Liftoff

Sometimes things change in an instant. My trip to Peru didn’t exactly change in an instant, but it changed almost overnight. In late January, 2010, flooding and mudslides in Peru made Machu Picchu inaccessible. People lost their homes. Some died. Tourists had to be rescued by helicopter. Fortunately, Machu Picchu itself was not lost, but it would be lost to tourism for weeks or months to come. In fact, the entire Sacred Valley had endured flooding and some areas near Lake Titicaca had been flooded, too

My side trip to Machu Picchu was washed away in the floods. Visiting the Sacred Valley was in question. For a few days I was not sure that the trip would happen at all. Fortunately, while the trip schedule had to morph a bit, the trip was still on. Instead of visiting Machu Picchu, we would be going to what many believed to be the most important archeological site in the Americas: Tiwanaku, in Bolivia.

Now this was truly interesting. A couple of years earlier, I had been sitting meditation one morning when I received the very clear message that I would be going to Bolivia one day. I wasn’t even quite sure where in South America Bolivia was. I was skeptical. (Yes, I admit it. I sometimes question what comes in meditation, even though it is right on, more often than not.) Bolivia? What in the world would bring me to Bolivia? And now, two years later, it seemed I would be going to Bolivia on a side trip.

Part of the Denver contingent gathered at DIA on February 7. The first leg of the trip for us was Denver to Miami. Then Miami to Lima and Lima to Juliaca. From Juliaca, we would take a bus to Puno and on to Jorge’s hotel, the Taypikala Hotel, which was on the shores of Lake Titicaca, in the little village of Chucuito.

I suspected that my flight from Denver to Miami was going to be a good one when the man already seated next to my assigned seat on the airplane greeted me even before I sat down and offered to help me stash my carryon. He had a huge smile and emanated peace. I quickly learned that his name was Shane Senevirante, he had been born in Sri Lanka, and he was the owner of an open wheel (Indie style) race car team called Team Stargate Worlds. Yep, the same folks connected with the television series and movie sponsored his team. He was heading to Miami to meet up with one of his drivers, Simone De Silvestro.

Shane and I chatted the entire flight. We talked about open wheel car racing, shamanism, family, Peru, Sri Lanka, and leadership. That conversation with Shane gave me hope. Here was a young team owner in the highly competitive field of car racing speaking about the importance of maintaining harmony within his team. He genuinely cared about his team members and their overall well being. He had a firm grasp on business necessity, but he also had a firm understanding of the importance of maintaining internal peace. And he cared deeply about his family.

If someone had suggested that enlightened leadership could be found in the race car industry, I would have seriously doubted the veracity of the comment and the sanity of the speaker. Yet there I was, impressed by the wisdom and commitment to principles coming from a young race team owner. I had dropped out of corporate America more than a decade earlier because of unenlightened leadership and greed. This young man was making me rethink my position on business. I planned to keep an eye on him and his team.

The layover in Miami was many hours. It might have been exhausting, but wasn’t because our group bonded during those hours. We had come together for a purpose: to join with others to activate the Solar Disc. It was a service trip for all of us and joining together in service, in and of itself, helped forge that bond. But we also had so much time to wait at the less than inspiring Miami International Airport that we were able to share stories about ourselves and our lives, buy a group gift for Jorge and another for one of his guides, and otherwise gel as team. The layover was enlivening instead of exhausting.

The layover in Lima was also long and we were just a little rumpled around the edges at that point. But the flight to Juliaca was awe inspiring. The Peruvian Andes were blanketed in green—and not just any shade of green, but a vibrant mixture of forest green, Kelly green, and spring green that was surely the essence of what God meant by the word “life,” and could easily be the pictorial stand-in for the word.

The Juliaca airport was a diminutive tarmac break among all that green, like a nest tucked into the terraced hills. I found myself grateful for the pilot who had managed the landing. At the luggage carousel—and there was only one, so it was easy to find—a smiling little band of locals greeted us with pan flutes and guitars. Their cheerful traditional Peruvian music created an immediate sense of celebration, but my reaction was that of having all the wind sucked right out of me. Tears sprang to my eyes.

I felt as if I had come home . . . after a long absence.  

Copyright 2010 by Melanie Mulhall

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Liftoff”

  1. HERBERT Says:

    WOW!! As anticipated a story within a story and only on the first leg of this ‘journey’. Again I express my appreciation for your openess to ‘all that is’ and your willness to allow US to look in and learn as you continue to grow in yet many new ways (race cars?) you just never know when and how we are allowed to learn as long as we “allow” it to occur. Waiting for the next round…

  2. HERBERT Says:

    To continue: I had hoped to learn more about the scaredness of Machu Picchu from your personal perspective, and yet now I will have the opportunity to learn of an area I know very little about. Yes it all comes together, and I find my interest even greater to broaden my perscective as you are led to share. In anticipation!

  3. alunatunes Says:

    melanie. loved the story about open wheel racing. Competition doesn’t always have to indicate unconcern and callousness. My business is so competitive. the struggle for ink, attention and air is brutal. But I always try to walk above the fray.
    This was a lovely post!

    • Melanie Mulhall Says:

      Tammy,

      I agree with you about competition. My experience in corporate America (many years of it before I dropped out, became apprenticed to a shaman, and changed my life) was a bit counter to Shane’s approach, though. I sometimes felt nearly alone in management as I attempted to keep the “human” in human resources.

      Thanks for your comment.
      Melanie

  4. cwaboulder Says:

    I have a cousin who goes to Machu Picchu every other year–that’s all she can afford–because she feels at home there. She also feels the same way about Turkey and some of the ruins there. She doesn’t try to explain it. At least not to me, but she was worried about the floods. I had no idea I knew someone there at at time. Glad it was a good trip despite the adventures.

    • Melanie Mulhall Says:

      I knew I wasn’t alone in that feeling about Peru! While the flooding dismantled the plan to take a side trip to Machu Picchu, I hope to get there some day.

      The trip was wonderful–life changing, even–and some of that will unfold on this blog. So I wouldn’t say that it was good despite the adventures. I would say that it was good with and even because of the adventures.

      Thanks so much for your post.

      Melanie

Leave a Reply

