Rules to Live By

I just want to know what the rules are!

That was what I mentally moaned during a meditation some years ago. I am used to getting guidance during meditation and I expected that my Guidance (or, in fact, the entire Council in front of which I often find myself) would respond in some way.

Of course, I do not always get what I ask for. Sometimes I am told, It’s none of your business, and have come to understand that this means, (1) I need to figure it out for myself, over time; (2) Diving Timing is at play and it is just not time for me to understand the situation; or (3) This is something related to the agreements and plans I made before stepping into this form and it will all play out as it is meant to.

We thought you’d never ask! That was the initial response I received, or words to that effect. Then I was taken to a temple, shown a book, and saw in that book a dozen rules by which to live.

Let me be clear: These were given as rules for me to live by, not anyone else. Still, there might be a useful nugget here for my readers. At least, that is what came to mind when I found the list in my leather folder a few days ago, as I waited for a client to arrive at Common Grounds. (Common Grounds is a coffee shop in the Highlands area of Denver at 32nd and Lowell. It is one of my favorite places to meet with clients who live at the opposite end of the Denver metro area from me.)

So here are the “Rules for Melanie to Live By,” as given me during that meditation. I wrote them down when I came out of meditation. They made me smile. They still do.

Melanie’s Rules to Live By

  1. Be guided by your heart.
  2. Learn to discern the voice of your heart.
  3. Develop and maintain a strong connection with the Divine.
  4. Be of service to others.
  5. Know that to be of service to others, you must also serve yourself.
  6. Release what is not working.
  7. Let ease and fun tell you what is working.
  8. Know that you do not always have all the answers.
  9. Know that you always have all the answers deep within you.
  10. Be grounded on Earth and in the Divine; know that you are fully human and fully Divine.
  11. Be willing to ask for help.
  12. Be willing to accept . . . help, gifts of the Spirit, and abundance in its many forms.

I would love to hear what rules to live by you have discovered, been given, or otherwise come to find useful in your life.

copyright 2008 by Melanie Mulhall

 

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Rules to Live By”

  1. Rosemary Carstens Says:

    I definitely have some “rules” for how I want to live my life. I won’t go into them all, but one I feel is very important, perhaps especially for women who often let others make their rules just to keep peace, applies at any stage of life but even more so as I grow older. I think it began for me around the age of 50 when I decided I was no longer going to accept “society’s rules” if they didn’t ring true for me. Many of society’s rules seem to me to be all about “control”–controlling others’ behaviors to achieve someone else’s goals. When I encounter a situation where someone else thinks I “should” behave in a certain way or do a certain thing, I remind myself that I am basically a good human being with a certain heart wisdom learned over many years and that I “will” do what seems right to me even when it is in opposition to what others are pressing for. I will follow my own dreams and goals, not without regard for those that matter to me, but with trust that I can make good choices. Rosemary

    Like

  2. attentiontolife Says:

    Egads, Melanie, I don’t know if I have any rules. I certainly have guidelines that I hope keep me sensitive to myself, to others, and to the world. But rules?

    You’ve made me think again…

    All good wishes!!

    Like

  3. Melanie Mulhall Says:

    Rosemary,

    I am with you!

    For me, one of the juicy things about aging is my willingness to ignore what society thinks and follow the dictates of my own heart. I think the “rules” I was given about learning to discern the voice of my heart and listening to that voice is very much in keeping with what you are talking about.

    In youth, we are sometimes all too willing to thumb our noses at society’s rules (too willing to enter into the alchemical process of solutio) without having the discernment and good judgment to harness that willingness. Often, it is innocence without sense. With age, if we are lucky, we have that discernment and good judgment coupled with a willingness to enter new territory.

    Melanie

    Like

  4. Melanie Mulhall Says:

    Anne,

    Egads is such a good interjection and, yet, is so underused!

    Keep in mind that I implored Guidance to tell me what the “rules” were, so the response was framed in that way. The word “guidelines” absolutely works for purposes of this discussion. And I would love to hear about those guidelines you have for yourself.

    It seems to me that, based on your own blogs and interests, among those guidelines might be one that has to do with paying attention to the life around you and another might relate to giving others the gift of being fully present to them. But I would love to hear your own words on this.

    Melanie

    Like

  5. alunatunes Says:

    Melanie i loved this list. I especially liked your rule about being fully human AND fully divine! It’s difficult to live IN the world and not be caught up in being OF the world.
    I am such a melanie fan!!
    thanks so much and happy new year

    Like

    • Melanie Mulhall Says:

      Tammy,
      That rule has actually become a part of my second book (still in process). It is difficult to avoid getting caught up in the collective dream of the world,whcih is not always one of clarity, let alone purity. For me, retaining my sense of the divine while being in the world has to do with fully embracing myself as human and a creature of this world. I don’t believe we get sidetracked by being too much of the world, but by being too much in our heads and not enough in the world. Does that make sense?

      Happy New Year to you, too!

      Like

  6. jerrie Says:

    I’m down to one rule: If it ain’t fun, don’t do it.
    There are, of course, the few things we have to do that ain’t fun–cleaning the toilet comes to mind, but 90% of the time, this one rule works.

    Like

  7. Melanie Mulhall Says:

    Jerrie,

    I am with you on this one! In fact, I apply that rule to my work all the time. I have been known to assure clients that we are going to have fun because if it’s not fun, I’m not spending my time on it.

    It seems to me that the older I get, the more I weed out what is not of value in my life and I think that one way I know that I am living what is of value to my life (mine, not someone else’s) is how much I feel connected to, right about, and at peace with what I am doing. That relates to the fun for me.

    If it is not joyful, don’t do it. That could be a good guide for 2009.

    Thanks, Jerrie.
    Melanie

    Like

Leave a Reply

